Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Black History Makers Awards Ceremony

Black History Makers Awards winners

The Chancellor’s Committee on the Status of Blacks is an advisory body dedicated to promoting the academic, professional, cultural, and social welfare of the Black community.

Every year, the CCSB recognizes UIC’s Black History Makers. The CCSB Black History Makers are UIC African American students, faculty and staff contributing to our Black/African American campus community. The award recognizes individuals who are making history here at UIC because of their roles and responsibilities.

This year’s 2022 CCSB Black History Makers are:

  • Sandra Durley, College of Pharmacy
  • Aisha El-Amin, Office of Diversity, Equity & Engagement
  • Aginah Muhammad, Council of Teacher Education
  • Gerald Smith, College of Engineering
  • Joseph Strickland, Jane Addams College of Social Work
  • Tariq Thomas, Jane Addams College of Social Work

The honorary ceremony took place Thursday, March 31, at 3:45 p.m. in the Illinois Room, Student Center East, 750 S. Halsted St.